Award ceremony: Johnston and Vanier each honored with two trophies

EDMUNDSTON, New Brunswick – The Blizzard organization had a well-deserved break on Monday night and with over a hundred guests the team held the players’ award ceremony in order to recognize its most deserving players.

Team members, management committee members, billet families, volunteers, stockholders and trophy sponsors gathered at the University de Moncton, campus d’Edmundston (UMCE) to take part in this award ceremony.

Captain Logan Johnston earned the trophy for the team’s top scorer (70 points) and the mos valuable player chosen by the players.

Forward Gabriel Vanier, another 20-year-old veteran, won the first two trophies of the evening, the Jessome’s La Source du Sport / Sports Experts Cup awarded to the player with the most points during the players of the month selection, and the Édupôle Cup awarded to the student player of the year.

Forward Sam King was warmly applauded after being named the most valuable player of the team. Blizzard president André Lebel reminded guests that King had been selected earlier in the day the Maritime Hockey League character player of the year. In addition, King was selected on the league’s all-star team as a centreman.

Here is the list of all the winner of the evening:

– Coupe Jessome’s La Source du sport/Sports experts Cup (joueur par excellence/outstanding player): GABRIEL VANIER (trophy sponsored by Jessome’s La Source du sport and Sports Experts)
– Coupe Édupôle Cup (joueur-étudiant de l’année/student player of the year): GABRIEL VANIER (trophy sponsored by the Edupôle partners)
– Meilleur esprit sportif/Best sportsmanship: TRISTAN MERCURE (trophy sponsored by Alliance Realty)
– 4e étoile – héros obscur/4th star – unsung hero: JUSTIN LUSH (trophy sponsored by Immeubles Riviera Real Estate)
– Meilleur défenseur/Best defenseman: KEENAN GILLIS (trophy sponsored by Assurance Tweedie, Brunswick, Levesque and Wawanesa)
– Meilleur pointeur/Leading scorer: LOGAN JOHNSTON (trophy sponsored by Madawaska Timer Resources)
– Joueur le plus amélioré/Player most improved: EWAN MaCDONALD (trophy sponsored by Edmundston Honda)
– Recrue de l’année/Rookie of the year: AARON BROWN (trophy sponsored by Solutions assurances 360)
– Meilleur leadership – implication communautaire/Best leadership – community involvement: FRANCIS ASSELIN (trophy sponsored by Jessome’s La Source du sport)
– Joueur le plus utile choisi par les joueurs/Most valuable player selected by the players: LOGAN JOHNSTON (trophy sponsored by Enseignes Pattison Sign Group)
– Joueur le plus utile/Most valuable player: SAM KING (trophy sponsored by Best Western Plus Edmundston).

The Edmundston team is now preparing for the first round of the playoffs which will begin the upcoming weekend. The first game of the Eastlink North best of seven semi-final series will be played in Campbellton on Friday (7 pm) and the second in Edmundston on Sunday (7:30 pm).

The Blizzard organization would like to thank those who contributed to the Award Ceremony: trophies sponsors, Artable, Sono clefs and the support and technical staff of the UMCE.

– 30 –

Here are the nine recipients of the 11 awards presented at the Award Ceremony held Monday night. From left to right, Aaron Brown, Justin Lush, Tristan Mercure, Francis Asselin, Gabriel Vanier, Sam King, Logan Johnston, Keenan Gillis and Ewan MacDonald. Photo Digiphoto

– 30 –

Contact: Hugues Chiasson, vice-president communications – The Edmundston Blizzard; (506) 740-0623 – cell phone