Nickerson scholarship to Félix Rioux


Media Advisory

Release date: Thursday, May 7, 2020

CJHL Player of the Year; CJHL Academic Player of the Year and Nickerson Family Scholarship winners unveiled

CALGARY, Alta. – Hockey Canada, in partnership with the Canadian Junior Hockey League (CJHL), announced today the winners of four national Junior A awards, including the CJHL Player of the Year, CJHL Academic Player of the Year and two Nickerson Family Scholarships.

CJHL Player of the Year

Devon Levi (Dollard-des-Ormeaux, Que./Carleton Place Canadians, CCHL)

In 37 games with the Carleton Place Canadians, the goaltender posted a 34-2-1 record with a 1.47 goals-against average and .941 save percentage, leading the Central Canada Hockey League (CCHL) in both categories. His breakout season earned him a number of accolades, including league awards for Most Valuable Player, Goaltender of the Year and Top Prospect from the CCHL, and national honours as Most Valuable Player, Top Goaltender and Top Rookie from the CJHL. Levi was also named tournament MVP at the 2019 World Junior A Challenge, leading Team Canada East to its first appearance in the gold medal game since 2016.

CJHL Academic Player of the Year

Jojo Tanaka-Campbell (Mill Bay, B.C./Vernon, BCHL)

In his first season with the Vernon Vipers, the forward recorded 26 points (7-19—26) in 52 games. Off the ice, Tanaka-Campbell is an exceptional student who graduated high school in June 2019 with a Grade 12 average of 94% and earned a scholarship to play hockey at Yale University for the 2021-22 season. He continues to enroll in courses and take on academic challenges while playing for Vernon, and hopes to pursue engineering at Yale.

Nickerson Family Scholarships

Félix Rioux (Saint-Jean-de-Dieu, Que./Edmundston Blizzard, MHL) – $1,000
Adam Kim (Kingston, Ont./Trenton Golden Hawks, OJHL) – $500

The national award winners, unveiled annually at the Centennial Cup, presented by Tim Hortons, are selected from the CJHL’s 10 Junior A leagues across the country: the Alberta Junior Hockey League (AJHL), British Columbia Hockey League (BCHL), Central Canada Hockey League (CCHL), Ligue de hockey junior AAA du Québec (LHJAAAQ), Manitoba Junior Hockey League (MJHL), Maritime Hockey League (MHL), Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League (NOJHL), Ontario Junior Hockey League (OJHL), Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League (SJHL) and Superior International Junior Hockey League (SIJHL).

For more information on Hockey Canada, please visit or follow along via social media on Facebook and Twitter.

Levi photo credit:
Tanaka-Campbell photo credit: Lisa Mazurek

– 30 –

For more information:
Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications

Hockey Canada