Ward, Leonard and Grandmaison honored by the MHL

Kyle Ward, Maxime Grandmaison and Liam Leonard were honored by the Maritime Hockey League for their outstanding season. Photo archives Digiphoto

EDMUNDSTON, New Brunswick – Veteran forward Kyle Ward and rookies Liam Leonard and Maxime Grandmaison of the Edmundston Blizzard caught the attention of the Maritime Junior Hockey League (MHL), which unveiled today the annual all-star teams.

Captain Ward (31g, 16a = 47 pts) was named to the all-star team at left wing position, tied with Brodie MacArthur (29g, 60a = 89 pts) of the Summerside Western Capitals.

Other members of the all-star team are Western Capitals goaltender Dominik Tmej (2.06, .941 and 6so), defensemen Mitchell Kreis (21g, 32a = 53 pts) of the Miramichi Timberwolves, and Pierre-Luc Lurette (19g, 22a = 41 pts), of the Campbellton Tigers. At center position, there is a tie between Amherst Ramblers Jordan King (28g, 50a = 78 pts) and Truro Bearcats Campbell Picard (34g, 35a = 69 pts). At right wing, no surprises with the selection of the league’s top scorer TJ Shea (43g, 62a = 105 pts), of the Western Capitals.

Top rookies
Two Blizzard players made the all-star rookie team. Maxime Grandmaison (17g, 12a = 29 pts), on the left wing, and Liam Leonard (16g, 23 a = 39 pts) at center. Yarmouth Mariners player Brent Broaders (15g, 16a = 31 pts) was selected the best first-year right winger.

Defensemen include Jordan Spence (13g, 39a = 52 pts) and two other rearguards tied from the Bearcats, Curtis Hefferman (5g, 9 a = 14 pts) and Jack McGovern (2g, 7a = 9 pts). And the best young goalkeeper is Cole McLaren (3.53, .911, 3 so) of the Valley Wildcats.

Players of the year
In addition, the MHL has made known the composition ot the players of the year. Champion scorer TJ Shea has been named player of the year. The best defenseman award was given to Mitchell Kreis and the top goalie to Dominik Tmej. The MHL character player of the year was awarded to Bearcat Campbell Pickard, while the MHL rookie of the year was given to Jordan Spence of the Western Capitals. Laurie Barron won the coach of the year award. Meanwhile, the top goaltending duo was awarded to Kevin Resop and Alec MacDonald, of the Bearcats.

– 30 –

Contact: Hugues Chiasson, vice-president communications – The Edmundston Blizzard; (506) 740-0623 – cell phone