Blizzard rewards its most deserving players

EDMUNDSTON, New Brunswick – The day after its final game of the 2023-2024 calendar, the Edmundston Blizzard held its Awards Night on Monday, March 11 at the Jean-Daigle Centre, prior to the start of the playoffs on Thursday.

A total of 11 trophies were up for grabs. Goaltender Nicholas Sheehan and forward Félix Bédard took three honours each, while Jérémy Fortin collected two.

The Blizzard finished first in the Eastlink North division with 79 points, a team high since the team moved to Edmundston in 2017. Edmundston kicks off the first round of the best-of-seven MHL Metalfab Cup series on Thursday, March 14, hosting the Fredericton Red Wings, fourth in the division.

Here is the list of all the winner of the evening:

– Coupe Jessome’s La Source du sport/Sports experts Cup (joueur par excellence/outstanding player): NICHOLAS SHEEHAN and FÉLIX BÉDARD (trophy sponsored by Jessome’s La Source du sport and Sports Experts)

– Meilleur esprit sportif/Best sportsmanship: JÉRÉMY FORTIN (trophy sponsored by the Knights of Columbus, council 1932)

– 4e étoile – héros obscur/4th star – unsung hero: JÉRÉMY FORTIN (trophy sponsored by Immeubles Riviera Real Estate)

– Meilleur défenseur/Best defenseman: JÉRÉMIE THIBODEAU (trophy sponsored by Assurance Tweedie, Brunswick, Levesque and Wawanesa)

– Meilleur pointeur/Leading scorer: FÉLIX BÉDARD (trophy sponsored by Madawaska Timber Resources)

– Joueur le plus amélioré/Player most improved: MICHAEL MCQUAID (trophy sponsored by Edmundston Honda)

– Recrue de l’année/Rookie of the year: RYAN LOVELESS (trophy sponsored by UNI Entreprises)

– Meilleur leadership – implication communautaire/Best leadership – community involvement: PHILIPPE COLLETTE (trophy sponsored by Jessome’s La Source du sport)

Ambassadeur du Blizzard/Blizzard Ambassador : PETER AMANATIDIS (trophy sponsored by Blizzard shareholders)

– Joueur le plus utile choisi par les joueurs/Most valuable player selected by the players: NICHOLAS SHEEHAN (trophy sponsored by Enseignes Pattison Sign Group)

– Joueur le plus utile/Most valuable player: NICHOLAS SHEEHAN and FÉLIX BÉDARD (trophy sponsored by Best Western Plus Edmundston).

The Blizzard organization would like to thank those who contributed to the Award Ceremony.

– 30 –

Here are the recipients of the 11 prizes awarded during the Blizzard’s Awards Ceremony Monday evening. From left to right, Nicholas Sheehan, Jérémy Fortin, Jérémie Thibodeau, Michael McQuaid, Ryan Loveless, Philippe Collette, Peter Amanatidis, and Félix Bédard. Photo Percy Picard

– 30 –

Contact: Hugues Chiasson, vice-president communications – The Edmundston Blizzard; (506) 740-0623 – cell phone