Blizzard rewards its most deserving players

EDMUNDSTON, New Brunswick – The Edmundston Blizzard took advantage of a break before the MHL playoffs to hold its awards night on Monday, March 21st at the Jean-Daigle Centre.

Tristan Therrien became the first player in the history of the young franchise to win four honors, namely the top scorer trophy, the Jessome’s La Source du sport / Sports Experts trophy (given to the player who has accumulated the most points during the selection of the players of the month), as well as the prestigious Players’ Choice Most Valuable Player and Team Most Valuable Player awards. The 20-year-old forward from Prévost, Québec., finished the campaign with 20 goals and 29 assists in 34 games.

Defenseman and captain, Brendan Sibley walked away with two trophies: best defenseman and best leadership – community involvement.

A total of 10 trophies were at stake. The Blizzard, who finished narrowly fourth in the MHL, will open its MHL Canadian Tire Cup best-of-seven series against the Summerside Western Capitals. Edmundston will play its first two games of the Eastlink North Semi-Final at Prince Edward Island next Saturday and Sunday.

Before the awards ceremony, we took the opportunity to reveal the winner of the Jessome’s La Source du sport / Sports Experts trophy awarded to the Blizzard player of the month in March. The honor went to Blake Richardson, author of three goals and five assists in 10 games.

Here is the list of all the winner of the evening:

– Coupe Jessome’s La Source du sport/Sports experts Cup (joueur par excellence/outstanding player): TRISTAN THERRIEN (trophy sponsored by Jessome’s La Source du sport and Sports Experts)

– Meilleur esprit sportif/Best sportsmanship: JESSE CHAMBERLAIN (trophy sponsored by the Knights of Columbus, council 1932)

– 4e étoile – héros obscur/4th star – unsung hero: MITCHELL McLEOD (trophy sponsored by Immeubles Riviera Real Estate)

– Meilleur défenseur/Best defenseman: BRENDAN SIBLEY (trophy sponsored by Assurance Tweedie, Brunswick, Levesque and Wawanesa)

– Meilleur pointeur/Leading scorer: TRISTAN THERRIEN (trophy sponsored by Madawaska Timber Resources)

– Joueur le plus amélioré/Player most improved: ALEX SAVOIE (trophy sponsored by Edmundston Honda)

– Recrue de l’année/Rookie of the year: NOAH GIBBS (trophy sponsored by UNI Entreprises)

– Meilleur leadership – implication communautaire/Best leadership – community involvement: BRENDAN SIBLEY (trophy sponsored by Jessome’s La Source du sport)

– Joueur le plus utile choisi par les joueurs/Most valuable player selected by the players: TRISTAN THERRIEN (trophy sponsored by Enseignes Pattison Sign Group)

– Joueur le plus utile/Most valuable player: TRISTAN THERRIEN (trophy sponsored by Best Western Plus Edmundston).


The Blizzard organization would like to thank those who contributed to the Award Ceremony.

– 30 –

Here are the recipients of the 10 prizes awarded during the Blizzard’s Award Ceremony Monday evening. From left to right, Noah Gibbs, Brendan Sibley, Mitchell McLeod, Jesse Chamberlain, Alex Savoie and Tristan Therrien. Photo Percy Picard

– 30 –

Contact: Hugues Chiasson, vice-president communications – The Edmundston Blizzard; (506) 740-0623 – cell phone